Explore the best destination in Udaipur from Yogi's blog

Shri Amarchand Badwa, who served as the Prime minister of Mewar kingdom during the reign of Maharanas Pratap Singh II, Raj Singh II, Ari Singh, and Hamir Singh from the period of 1751 to 1778, built Bagore Ki Haveli. Following the death of Amarchand Badwa, the haveli came under the possession of the Mewar royal family and became the abode of Nath Singh, a relative of the then Maharana.  In 1878, Maharaj Shakti Singh of Bagore further extended the haveli by building the triple-arched gateway and since then it is known as Bagore ki Haveli. Till 1947, the haveli remained in the possession of Mewar State. Post India’s Independence, the Haveli was used by the Rajasthan government for housing government employees. The haveli was neglected for almost forty years and later in 1986, the Government eventually decided to hand over the restoration work to the West Zone Cultural Centre.

Previous post     
     Next post
     Blog home

The Wall

No comments
You need to sign in to comment